IBEW Congratulates Two New Scholarship Winners

Brian Connaghan of Urbana and William Hinderman of Orland Park have been named recipients of the 2008 Electrical Industry Scholarship Program (EISP) Award, an honor that recognizes academic excellence among high school graduates pursuing studies in an industry-related field.

Connaghan and Hinderman each will receive $5,000 to assist with college tuition and fees, room and board, and book purchases, among other expenses. Students who maintain a 2.75-point graduate can renew the scholarship for up to three additional years, the amount of time typically required to earn an undergraduate degree.

To qualify for the scholarship, applicants must be children of Local Union #134 members who are in good standing and working under the Principal, Communication or Residential Agreement. Applicants also must be registered in a college or university field of study directly related to the electrical industry. Recipients are selected by an independent committee of academics.

Other 2008 scholarship recipients include Zachary Jennings, Anthony Mackey, Michael Schmitz, Richard Macino and Brian McGuigan, all of whom are attending the University of Illinois in Champaign-Urbana.

If you are a Local Union #134 IBEW member in good standing, and you work under the Principal Agreement, Residential Agreement or the Communication Agreement, and your son or daughter is interested in applying for the scholarship, you can obtain an application by writing:

c/o Tim Foley, Business Manager
Local Union #134, IBEW
600 W. Washington Blvd.
Chicago, IL 60661